Drop dead dashing

honeyThis might be pathetic for a person at my age. But some people use dating services which I find sad so who are you to judge. This post is not about dating though. That’s an American thing. Finns don’t date, we meet people. We go out to dinner, going to movies and so on but we don’t call it dating. The whole process feels weird to me and boring. I prefer doing something active. Old fashion dating is not my thing. I’m going off subject there. This post is not about dating and all that stuff.

It takes a lot for me to get interested in someone but when I do, I don’t get over it very fast. It’s usually with someone who I’ll never meet. I’ve had more crushes than I can remember. Sometimes it’s difficult to like someone I know I can never have. But then I see or read about relationships and realise it’s better to be alone. I’ve got over my crushes but there’s always someone new. It’s better to live in the dream world than letting them know how you feel about them. It doesn’t matter how dashing they look or what kind of personality they have. If you know you’ll never get a chance, you don’t even try. Why should you bother to do anything about it because it will never happen anyway? I know I will get over my crushes so I don’t make it a problem. They didn’t even live in the same country so there’s no chance in hell.

My longest crush was 13 years. I wouldn’t call it a crush but I don’t call it love either. I liked him a lot and still do but in a different way. Calling him a celebrity is the wrong word. He is drop dead dashing with a great personality. But men like that are always taken and that’s a line you can’t cross. Life is not a soap opera where you can seduce someone else’s partner and they fall for you instead. It’s easier to like someone from afar than going through the heartache in the real world. Especially when you’re never been popular. That’s one of the reasons why I keep crushing men I can’t have. I’ve gone through life by thinking about something else besides relationships. Maybe I’m paying the price now. It might sound sad but some people are meant to be alone and I’m one of them.

My crushes have always been with foreigners. Finnish men have never really been my cup of tea. There’s nothing wrong with them. But most Finnish men can’t act without alcohol and that’s a big turn off. Finnish is not really a romantic language either and it sounds corny when you want to talk about emotions. Unfortunately, most of my crushes have been athletes, pop stars or actors. That’s such a teen thing but that’s not entirely true. I’ve had those through my adulthood. That’s what good about being single, you can crush who you want and whatever age. It does have its disadvantages though. You wish you could meet your crush and tell them how you feel. But that won’t change anything since they probably won’t feel the same about you. If no one has never crushed on me, how can I expect to get any feelings back from a person I’ve never met? I can hardly look at myself.

I wish I could find someone who gives me the same spark as my past and current crushes have. But that won’t happen. I’ve out of their league. None of them would even look my way. Even if I proved them I don’t care about their money and fame, they would still choose that pretty one. Celebrities only want someone they can show at premiers. It’s been seen so many times. Everything they do something, it ends in the papers or online. An ordinary person would feel uncomfortable. I can only hope I get over this current crush soon. If he just wouldn’t be so drop dead dashing and almost perfect. Even if liking someone the way I do, is a great feeling, it has to stop sometime. If only that non-famous who gives me the same feeling would come along one day but I guess that’s gonna be a long wait.

Not going with the flow

passenger in bus

I’m one of those people who doesn’t follow fashion or the latest trends. As a woman, people expect that from you. But like my blog address says; Tomboy for life. I hate that girly stuff and if people can’t accept that then it’s too bad. I follow my own path. I didn’t rebel when I was a teenager but rebel now against all these stereotype things. I rather be the driver of my life than the passenger. I’m not here to please people. I dare to be different. People expect you to go with the flow and be like everyone else. You should like the same movies or the same music like everyone else. If you’re single you should live like in Sex in the City. You should dress in a certain way because of your gender. If you’re not like everyone else, they call you names or look at you strangely. People are too attached to looks. They judge you by just looking at you instead of getting to know the person. If you look at a person you can’t know what they’re really like. Even if you know a person, you can’t know everything about them. You only know them what they tell you.

I’m a big music lover and one of my favourite music is mainstream. But what they have these days on the charts, it’s something I don’t care about. I don’t know half of those bands or artist you see these days. I listen to those who’s been around for years. They know how to make music and it’s up to date. I used to follow the music business and knew about the latest hits. Now I just don’t care anymore. I don’t know what kids know about music history but if you don’t even know any a singers from the past, then what kind of music lover are you. When I was that age, I knew about the music my parents listened to when they were young. Now if it’s a band or singer who was popular 15 years ago, kids don’t know them. If they listen to old music they laugh or think it sounds awful. Music knowledge should be taught in school. If there weren’t The Beatles, Rolling Stones etc, there wouldn’t be any of the current ones. Things haven’t changed since I was a teenager. Then they listened to music that was on the charts and when new ones came, the old ones were forgotten. I was never one of those teens who changed music tastes every week. I still listen to some of the bands and singers I listened to then. You don’t see their music on the latest charts even if they have released new material. Duran Duran is one of them. Kids these days don’t know what good music is anymore.

I’m also a movie lover and I watch movies that I think is interesting. I don’t go and see a movie because it’s popular. Some years there’s not much I want to see. But years like this one there’s been a lot of interesting movies. I’ve seen at least 3 movies in the cinema this year. There’s two more and they’re Thor and Star Wars. I was actually not very interesting in them when they were trendy. I still don’t care about certain Marvel movies but I’ve watched Thor and Doctor Strange on blu-ray. I’m so called late bloomer when it comes to those movies. If the characters were played by other actors, I probably wouldn’t care about them as much as I do now.

I never do things rationally. If I decide something I think long and hard if it’s worth it. The only time I went with the flow was starting this blog. I’ve always written something and when I started, I was never afraid to start one. I wish I could make easy decisions like that in other things as well. I’m my own driver of my own life. If passengers wants to get on board, they’re more than welcome.

Tallenna

Tallenna

I could eat you for breakfast

two chocolate barsEating is not really my favourite thing to do but when it comes to sweets/candy and especially chocolate I wouldn’t say no to that. But I don’t just eat any kind of chocolate. It shouldn’t be too sweet or too strong. I tried chocolate with chilli flavour once but that was the worse sweet/candy I ever tasted. Chocolate should be pure without any special flavours. Even if I do eat them every now and then. At the moment I eat Oreo filled and creamy biscuit chocolate. They’re kind of sweet so I eat just a few rows in a day. My favourite chocolate is Finnish because they’re sweet in a fair amount. Dark chocolate is the best. I can’t understand how someone can eat white chocolate. It’s not even real since there’s no cocoa in them.

Chocolate is definitely my favourite snack to eat. I could eat them for breakfast. You would think I would become overweight for eating so much of it. People who put on weight probably gonna hate me but I never seem to gain weight. I’m been told I weigh too little. I guess it’s because I exercise and well, I’m born with it. Weight has never been a problem for me so I’ve never been on a diet. If you eat fattening foods and sit all day, it’s no wonder you gain weight. This doesn’t mean I’m skinny but I’m not overweight either. I have my lazy days and eat chocolate but yet I stay the same weight. Too much it’s too much no matter what a person eats. There are better and healthier snacks than chocolate but if you’re a sweet tooth like me, you choose that instead.

I’ve had these moments where I haven’t bought a single chocolate bar or block for a month. The only sweet snack I ate were cookies/biscuits. So I’m not always eating chocolate and other sweets. It’s not good for the waistline and definitely not for your teeth. When I was a child I never had tooth decay but when I became an adult, I had lots of them. I guess it’s eating too many sweet things. I brush my teeth twice a day with toothpaste so I try to keep the cavities away. Dentists are expensive so I rather stay away from them. My self-control does fail me when it comes to chocolate. No matter how I try to resist, I just got to have it. Life without chocolate is like having no sun. Chocolate is a better vice than smoking because it doesn’t smell and it doesn’t give you cancer. In a fair amount, it’s good for your health when it’s dark chocolate. Some put chocolate on their skin but it’s meant to be eaten and not to be used as a beauty product.

Tallenna

Tallenna