Happy 4th of July America

4th of July

I can’t sail across the ocean to say this so I write it instead.

Happy 4th of July to my American friends!

Even though I never been there and never met anyone of you, I still have a big respect for you. As a European, America has had a big influence on me. Most of my favourite things are American. When I speak English, it happens to turn into American English. I haven’t noticed myself how I pronounce English when I talk though. Maybe it’s a mix. I found this website where you can hear the different pronouncing styles between American and British English. It can be a bit of both. I guess you have to talk to a native before you know which one it is. Even if I write this blog in British English, that American one keeps coming into my thoughts. The spelling is sometimes a little different so I have to check it out from Google. The word ‘practise’ is the one of the hardest I seem to confuse with. In the end, the most imported thing is to be understood no matter what the spelling is.

Most of my favourite bands and artists are American (Madonna, Michael Jackson, Pink, Prince, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith) The same goes with movies and actors (Tom Hanks, Johnny Depp, Lee Pace). American’s really are good at the entertainment business. They have the money to make good TV shows as well. At least there used to be good ones. Most of the shows I watched has ended (Bones, Mythbusters, Person of interest). Soon Game of Thrones will end too. Good things come to an end which is a shame. If there only would interesting new show but I don’t care any of them. They’re running out of good ideas over there. It’s not only America but in general. I don’t watch anything on TV anymore. Luckily the internet is full of those great shows that were made in the US in the past.

Every country has its downsides and so does America. No one is perfect. We all have our bad sides but we all should be proud of who we are and where we’re coming from.
So have a happy 4th of July to all Americans and who lived there for years. Stay safe and enjoy your day no matter how you celebrate it.

Drop dead dashing

honeyThis might be pathetic for a person at my age. But some people use dating services which I find sad so who are you to judge. This post is not about dating though. That’s an American thing. Finns don’t date, we meet people. We go out to dinner, going to movies and so on but we don’t call it dating. The whole process feels weird to me and boring. I prefer doing something active. Old fashion dating is not my thing. I’m going off subject there. This post is not about dating and all that stuff.

It takes a lot for me to get interested in someone but when I do, I don’t get over it very fast. It’s usually with someone who I’ll never meet. I’ve had more crushes than I can remember. Sometimes it’s difficult to like someone I know I can never have. But then I see or read about relationships and realise it’s better to be alone. I’ve got over my crushes but there’s always someone new. It’s better to live in the dream world than letting them know how you feel about them. It doesn’t matter how dashing they look or what kind of personality they have. If you know you’ll never get a chance, you don’t even try. Why should you bother to do anything about it because it will never happen anyway? I know I will get over my crushes so I don’t make it a problem. They didn’t even live in the same country so there’s no chance in hell.

My longest crush was 13 years. I wouldn’t call it a crush but I don’t call it love either. I liked him a lot and still do but in a different way. Calling him a celebrity is the wrong word. He is drop dead dashing with a great personality. But men like that are always taken and that’s a line you can’t cross. Life is not a soap opera where you can seduce someone else’s partner and they fall for you instead. It’s easier to like someone from afar than going through the heartache in the real world. Especially when you’re never been popular. That’s one of the reasons why I keep crushing men I can’t have. I’ve gone through life by thinking about something else besides relationships. Maybe I’m paying the price now. It might sound sad but some people are meant to be alone and I’m one of them.

My crushes have always been with foreigners. Finnish men have never really been my cup of tea. There’s nothing wrong with them. But most Finnish men can’t act without alcohol and that’s a big turn off. Finnish is not really a romantic language either and it sounds corny when you want to talk about emotions. Unfortunately, most of my crushes have been athletes, pop stars or actors. That’s such a teen thing but that’s not entirely true. I’ve had those through my adulthood. That’s what good about being single, you can crush who you want and whatever age. It does have its disadvantages though. You wish you could meet your crush and tell them how you feel. But that won’t change anything since they probably won’t feel the same about you. If no one has never crushed on me, how can I expect to get any feelings back from a person I’ve never met? I can hardly look at myself.

I wish I could find someone who gives me the same spark as my past and current crushes have. But that won’t happen. I’ve out of their league. None of them would even look my way. Even if I proved them I don’t care about their money and fame, they would still choose that pretty one. Celebrities only want someone they can show at premiers. It’s been seen so many times. Everything they do something, it ends in the papers or online. An ordinary person would feel uncomfortable. I can only hope I get over this current crush soon. If he just wouldn’t be so drop dead dashing and almost perfect. Even if liking someone the way I do, is a great feeling, it has to stop sometime. If only that non-famous who gives me the same feeling would come along one day but I guess that’s gonna be a long wait.

Not going with the flow

passenger in bus

I’m one of those people who doesn’t follow fashion or the latest trends. As a woman, people expect that from you. But like my blog address says; Tomboy for life. I hate that girly stuff and if people can’t accept that then it’s too bad. I follow my own path. I didn’t rebel when I was a teenager but rebel now against all these stereotype things. I rather be the driver of my life than the passenger. I’m not here to please people. I dare to be different. People expect you to go with the flow and be like everyone else. You should like the same movies or the same music like everyone else. If you’re single you should live like in Sex in the City. You should dress in a certain way because of your gender. If you’re not like everyone else, they call you names or look at you strangely. People are too attached to looks. They judge you by just looking at you instead of getting to know the person. If you look at a person you can’t know what they’re really like. Even if you know a person, you can’t know everything about them. You only know them what they tell you.

I’m a big music lover and one of my favourite music is mainstream. But what they have these days on the charts, it’s something I don’t care about. I don’t know half of those bands or artist you see these days. I listen to those who’s been around for years. They know how to make music and it’s up to date. I used to follow the music business and knew about the latest hits. Now I just don’t care anymore. I don’t know what kids know about music history but if you don’t even know any a singers from the past, then what kind of music lover are you. When I was that age, I knew about the music my parents listened to when they were young. Now if it’s a band or singer who was popular 15 years ago, kids don’t know them. If they listen to old music they laugh or think it sounds awful. Music knowledge should be taught in school. If there weren’t The Beatles, Rolling Stones etc, there wouldn’t be any of the current ones. Things haven’t changed since I was a teenager. Then they listened to music that was on the charts and when new ones came, the old ones were forgotten. I was never one of those teens who changed music tastes every week. I still listen to some of the bands and singers I listened to then. You don’t see their music on the latest charts even if they have released new material. Duran Duran is one of them. Kids these days don’t know what good music is anymore.

I’m also a movie lover and I watch movies that I think is interesting. I don’t go and see a movie because it’s popular. Some years there’s not much I want to see. But years like this one there’s been a lot of interesting movies. I’ve seen at least 3 movies in the cinema this year. There’s two more and they’re Thor and Star Wars. I was actually not very interesting in them when they were trendy. I still don’t care about certain Marvel movies but I’ve watched Thor and Doctor Strange on blu-ray. I’m so called late bloomer when it comes to those movies. If the characters were played by other actors, I probably wouldn’t care about them as much as I do now.

I never do things rationally. If I decide something I think long and hard if it’s worth it. The only time I went with the flow was starting this blog. I’ve always written something and when I started, I was never afraid to start one. I wish I could make easy decisions like that in other things as well. I’m my own driver of my own life. If passengers wants to get on board, they’re more than welcome.

Tallenna

Tallenna